DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Does anybody else mistrust RTH?

It has always worked flawlessly for me! Just make sure you have the RTH altitude set high enough. When I have the opportunity to show someone how the RTH works, it amazes them every time. "Look no hands" and it returns and lands all by itself!

I find people either always use it, or never use it.
I used it this year for yuks once.
There was no way I was trusting a computer to land my 'unobtainable' last year.

Reactions: Flytelandon
I use return to home on every flight. I fly to my target, get the footage I need, then hit the RTH button. I want to make sure it works when I need it, climbs to and maintains correct predetermined altitude, increases speed, and flies straight back. and lands at the home point. The last thing I want to do is find out it isnt working when I have an emergency. Im also a private pilot, and my use of RTH comes from my private pilot habit of always looking for a place to land through the entire flight should the engine fail. RTH is just my insurance policy just in case of transmission failure. I want to know how the drone will respond.

I also fly out do my thing and hit RTH and Mavic flies back like clock work around 60+ flights so far. I few times I lost signal the Mavic RTH also.

Reactions: Former Member
Used RTH once just to see what would happen. It returned to home. I bought the drone to fly it, so I fly it home myself. For me more flying time = better pilot. I'll keep flying it myself.