DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Editing software

allen deckard

Reactions
New guy here.

Anyone have a link to a simple list of video editing software with maybe pluses minuses of each?
I’m new to editing video. As in I’ve done little more than taking good video mainly because of good locations, example reef diving and Kentucky waterfalls in remote locations. Then simple edits and using utube.

Anyway.

I’m looking for if it exists a simple to get started with editing package that as I grow stronger has the capability to grow with me.

Putting it another way.

I need something I can understand to start but can study and learn all the features and make better stuff as I get better.

An example might be Microsoft excel how a simple spreadsheet is easy but it has amazing capabilities as you grow and get more into it.

Hopefully that makes sense.

I just don’t want to buy and study a junk editor only to relearn something new in 6 months. On the flip side I don’t want to get something that is so complicated that I get frustrated and make junk.

Thanks I know it’s been asked a million times but that’s a forum for ya. I looked around but couldn’t honestly find what I was looking for.

Again much appreciated.

I was using Adobe Premier Pro but last video I tried the free DaVinci Resolve 15 and loved it! More intuitive and better workflow. Below is my research from other posts here - theres a link to a good tutorial of Resolve, watch it first to see if its for you :)

Free video editor: Media Composer | First - Free Video Editing Software - Avid
opensource: shortCut
FXhome - Powerful creative software for filmmakers and photographers - fxhome.com

**DaVinci Resolve 15 (free version) & Fusion for effects
DaVinci Resolve VFX / Transition Tutorials - YouTube

DaVinci Resolve 15 | Blackmagic Design
Blackmagic Design

Windows Movie maker
Want to download a safe version of Movie Maker

Sony Vegas Pro - Magix Movie Edit Pro