DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Erroneous Altitude Zone?

MM249

Reactions
I’m a Newbie MM flyer. DJI Fly app is indicating my home - and most of the parks and undeveloped farmland in the surrounding area - are located in an Altitude Zone, but DJI’s Geo Map indicates these areas are more than 2 miles north of the northernmost West-East boundary of a nearby Restricted Zone. The map does not indicate I’m in close proximity to an Altitude Zone, Authorization Zone or Warning Zone. See attached Geo Map screenshot for reference.

I’ve replicated this issue using multiple iOS devices, all using the latest DJI Fly app. An email exchange with DJI FlySafe ([email protected]) resulted in a request for my Lat/Long coordinates and controller S/N. Their reply confirmed I’m not located in an area with restrictions. DJI then instructed me to update firmware and Fly Safe database (both were up to date and didn’t require updating). DJI also asked for a photo screenshot of the ”maximum altitude reached“ at 30m (also attached). DJI has not yet responded to my reply with the requested photo. Any thoughts would be kindly appreciated.

Attachments

• DBB17C41-4706-418B-9377-2B7AA3804290.jpeg
    DBB17C41-4706-418B-9377-2B7AA3804290.jpeg
    59.7 KB · Views: 49
  • DCD87B05-FE90-473F-808B-6A67866A75F7.png
    DCD87B05-FE90-473F-808B-6A67866A75F7.png
    9.9 MB · Views: 47
The bowtie areas are a pain. I wish DJI would get rid of them. You can unlock them, but its also a pain if you fly there often.

Thank you sir. I’m pretty confused about this, as I’m not located within the bow tie. I’ve read that DJI has added arbitrary/unpublished Altitude Zone restrictions outside of the bow tie areas (oriented to the runway flight path), but I haven’t been able to confirm this. As it stands now I’m limited to 100ft altitude.