DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Experimenting with nd filters

Andyc240

Reactions
So I have never done much photography before and this setting up and getting light etc is all a learning curve to me and filters lol but it's so interesting when I get going, so looking a bit of advice with this picture is it good etc I had the polar pro nd4 lense on as it was sunset and histogram up along with the zebra stripes lol

This is taken at murlough Bay Co Down just facing Dundrum

Attachments

• FB_IMG_1571526940066.jpg
    FB_IMG_1571526940066.jpg
    53.4 KB · Views: 55
Love the place.... I have relatives who live in Killough, and I learned to drive on Tyrella beach..... but back to your picture.
Images are very personal, and people look at them differently... what one person likes, another may not.

I'm not sure I would have used an ND filter at all, since it was sunset, and the light would have been going, but many people use them for effect, especially ND Polarising filters to increase colour saturation....
The ND4 effectively underexposes the image by 2 stops.... unless you want to get a particular effect, why reduce the light getting to the camera sensor?
Also, for still images, I personally wouldn't use ND filters as a rule (maybe occasionally for a special effect)..... I use them for video, to get the shutter speed down to around twice the frame rate.

Don't know if that has been of any help, but please keep posting pics of this area.... I'm homesick!

Reactions: Andyc240
a learning curve to me and filters lol but it's so interesting when I get going, so looking a bit of advice with this picture is it good etc I had the polar pro nd4 lense on as it was sunset
The ND filter has done nothing at all to improve or change the look of your picture.
All it's done is to cut 75% of the light and force you to use a 2 stop slower shutter speed to get proper exposure.