DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

"Flying over people" Drone Classifications

DaveR1977

Reactions
Please, correct me if I'm wrong...

As a 107 pilot, my understanding is that we cannot legally fly over people until our drones have been classified by the manufacturer, and we have labeled them per FAA specs.

Has DJI submitted documentation for means of compliance? I still don't know if the Air2s is Class 2 or three. Who knows how many foot-pounds of impact it generates?

It looks like the regs got ahead of our ability to comply.

Does anyone have current info on this issue?

TIA

As a 107 pilot, my understanding is that we cannot legally fly over people until our drones have been classified by the manufacturer, and we have labeled them per FAA specs.

Has DJI submitted documentation for means of compliance? I still don't know if the Air2s is Class 2 or three. Who knows how many foot-pounds of impact it generates?

TIA
Please read this post written by @BigAl07

Last edited:
Please read this post written by @BigAl07
Thank you for the link. It re-affirms what I am asking.

Does anyone have "current" info on classifications per those regs? We cannot comply until DJI submits and FAA approves the "Means of compliance". (And the drone is properly labeled.)

Not that I have any need to fly over people, but as I occasionally "transit" it would be nice to know what classification the Air2s falls under.

Cheers!

Thank you for the link. It re-affirms what I am asking.

Does anyone have "current" info on classifications per those regs? We cannot comply until DJI submits and FAA approves the "Means of compliance". (And the drone is properly labeled.)
You can find all approved OOP DOC's here: UAS Declaration of Compliance
Current requirements for OOP Category MOC's can be found here (starting on page 70: https://www.govinfo.gov/content/pkg/FR-2021-01-15/pdf/2020-28947.pdf