DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

From Spark to Mavic Pro?

Darkabaz

Reactions
Hello,

I'm still a Spark pilot, but thinking about upgrading to a Mavic Pro 1 and hold the Spark in hands for the "fun" flights.

The reasons i am thinking about buying a MP is as follows:
- More range/distance (7km MP / of 2km spark) the biggest reason!!
? Does it really can go more than let say 4/5 km? I saw a lot of different movies on YT, some with only 1.5km some with 4+ km...

- Better battery

- Better/sharper image quality (Youtube comparison movies)

But, the biggest question is, is it the value worth? If decide to do i will pick a good second hand one, not a new one. I am using my drone for images, almost no movies because i don't have 4k television yet. I'm not a professional photographer i only use for 'fun'...

Any tips i would appreciate!

Thank you.

True it has a much greater range, though I wouldn't say that it's normally 4-5k. There are a lot of "it depends" factors like where you are, what you are surrounded by, if you have line of sight (remember that you always should be able to see it), and so on. But yes it's definitely at least a couple of km in most situations.

I'm impressed with the Spark camera, I'm not sure I'd change drones on that alone. If your'e truly looking for a good camera you might need to consider the newest Mavic for that, and just go for it.

Here's an article that might be of interest:

DJI Mavic Air vs. Mavic Pro vs. Spark: Which is right for you?

What I have found by owning and repairing many of both the MP and the Spark:
  1. Mavic range is much better because of Occusync
  2. Price difference these days is alot smaller than it used to be
  3. 4k 3axis cam on the Mavic is worth the price difference just by itself
  4. Flight time on the Mavic is 50% more than the Spark
  5. Mavic includes an SD card