Get more from your Mavic
The largest Mavic community in the world
Join Us Now

gimbal overload no clamp?

swat9uk

Active Member
Joined
May 13, 2018
Messages
25
Reactions
10
Age
40
i had a strange issue today. i placed on my nd filter while it was switched off and had gimbal clamp on .took it outside to fly removed the gimbal clamp powerd on and it was saying gimbal overload error. switched it off and back on a couple of times still the same saying remove gimbal clamp. yet it wasnt on.. in the end i powerd it off removed the nd filter and worked fine then i poped nd filter back on .. strange one any feedback on this would be great
 

msinger

DJI Drone Expert
Approved Vendor
Premium Pilot
Joined
Oct 12, 2016
Messages
24,487
Reactions
21,188
Location
Harrisburg, PA (US)
Site
MavicHelp.com
Perhaps your ND filter is too heavy. Which ND filter are you using?
 

Former Member

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 20, 2016
Messages
14,014
Reactions
13,090
Location
Duluth, Georgia
Some filters are too large to allow the gimbal to properly calibrate when powered on and bang on the pitch arm. The result is a gimbal overload message.

The answer is to do as you did, apply the filter after the gimbal has powered up. Be careful and don't stress the motors out by pushing too hard on the camera barrel. Simply hold the barrel by the sides, apply the filter, and you're good to go. Best to take the filter off after every flight to prevent a recurrence.
 
  • Like
Reactions: swat9uk

swat9uk

Active Member
Joined
May 13, 2018
Messages
25
Reactions
10
Age
40
i did wonder that im not sure of the make just cheapo ones i guess nd8 ..last weekend i took it out while in the air the camera went nuts aimed up down then screen whent very dark allmost black then back to normal hmm
 

swat9uk

Active Member
Joined
May 13, 2018
Messages
25
Reactions
10
Age
40
thanks for that il have a look mine look very close to that but in gold
 

msinger

DJI Drone Expert
Approved Vendor
Premium Pilot
Joined
Oct 12, 2016
Messages
24,487
Reactions
21,188
Location
Harrisburg, PA (US)
Site
MavicHelp.com
  • Like
Reactions: swat9uk

swat9uk

Active Member
Joined
May 13, 2018
Messages
25
Reactions
10
Age
40
Some filters are too large to allow the gimbal to properly calibrate when powered on and bang on the pitch arm. The result is a gimbal overload message.

The answer is to do as you did, apply the filter after the gimbal has powered up. Be careful and don't stress the motors out by pushing too hard on the camera barrel. Simply hold the barrel by the sides, apply the filter, and you're good to go. Best to take the filter off after every flight to prevent a recurrence.
thank you will try this also
 

Former Member

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 20, 2016
Messages
14,014
Reactions
13,090
Location
Duluth, Georgia
just found the ones ive got they are Neewer filters ebay job

There are a bunch of members who use the Neewer's, but if I had them and they were causing overload problems for me, I would jettison them and get something that works.

I hope that if you do get a different set, that your gimbal doesnt overload.
 
DJI Drone Service
Lycus Tech Mavic Air 2 Case

New Threads

Forum statistics

Threads
104,149
Messages
1,206,313
Members
132,835
Latest member
Alvin45