DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

GPS Coordinate Go To?

TinajaEco

Premium Pilot
Reactions
I’m a field biologist and am wondering if there is a way, or simple software, that will allow me to input a specific UTM coordinate and have the drone fly to that location. This would be for a birds nest, burrow, etc.

Thank you.

I think you face more problems than simply getting the drone to the same locations on multiple occasions.
I suspect that you will encounter problems with accurate position holding unless the drone is low.
DJI drones with downward looking sensors (VPS) can accurately hold position using ground based etc. reference points PROVIDING that
1) the drone is low enough for the reference points to be within VPS range.
2) the 'ground' is well lit and has distinctive stationary features.
A sea of waving grass or shrubs may not provided suitable target, night flights are probably out.
Even if you can satisfy those requirements, with the drone so positioned I suspect that the presence of the drone will disturb the birds, possibly causing them to attack the drone and that could be fatal to the bird. If the birds have to fly through the drone's down draught it may be cause them to crash with potentially fatal consequences.

How close to a target do you envisage positioning the drone ?
For close up shots if, for whatever reason, VPS is unusable then I suspect that solely GPS position holding will not be accurate enough to meet you needs I.e. the target may not stay centre screen.
If the drone is stood off such that GPS position holding drift has no perceivable effect then you may need a powerful zoom lenses to get decent images of the birds.

Their may also be legal concerns about flying near nesting sites.
In the long run it might be easier and safer to use ground based cameras.

Reactions: Octavio