DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Greetings from Seattle

svenf

Reactions
Hi there - new Mini 2 owner (my first actually controllable drone; before that I had a $30 mall toy that was very hard to control and more frustrating than fun).
I have both the new FAA TRUST certificate (super-easy to get + free) for those "mandatory fun" recreational flights, and Part 107 UAS certificate just in case someone insists on throwing dollar bills at me :)

Shocking fun fact... I registered my drone voluntarily, because I want to be able to attach (at least during my first flights) useful items such as extended landing gear and prop guards, which push it clearly past 250g. But I don't mind - the way I see it, certification and device registration force me to approach flying the thing more safely and professionally from the get-go (living in KBFI Class D and under SEA Class B; I better take the regs seriously. I'm also a Part 61 pilot and prefer not to hit any drones... :)

Hoping to get to meet drone folks in the Seward Park area soon (well, after these crazy hot dog days)

Welcome to Mavic Pilots! ? Enjoy the forum!Thumbswayup

Hello from the Crossroads of America svenf.

I had a $30 mall toy that was very hard to control and more frustrating than fun).

Toy drones are easy to crash.

DJI drones are easy to fly. ?

and Part 107 UAS certificate just in case someone insists on throwing dollar bills at me :)

Heck ya!

Congratulations on the Part 107 certificate and welcome to the Forum. :cool:

Greetings welcome to the forum! Awesome, thanks for sharing!

Welcome to MP!

Congrats on passing the tests (TRUST & 107) - You'll enjoy the M2! Just so you know, as a 107 pilot, all drones need to be registered regardless of weight. So...you're good to go!!!
Thanks!
I don't think that's entirely correct - having the Part 107 certificate does not make me have to register any drone.