DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

helicopter pilot joining the drone movement!

Hemspilot

Reactions
hello all. I finally made a jump into drone flying. A keen photographer for many years I was looking for a new “angle” and interest to my photography. I am so excited about the dji Mavic Air I now own. After a few flights and some very amateur films I am thoroughly hooked.
In my day job I work as an air ambulance helicopter pilot, so I spend a lot of time in the 3D environment but rarely am I able to take pictures while flying at work.
I am simply blown away by the capabilities and technology in this little drone.
Looking forward to learning and contributing to this forum as I get a bit more competent.

Hey that’s awesome, welcome aboard!

Reactions: Hemspilot
Welcome to Mavic Pilots! :)

Welcome! Question: do you think an helicopter could be taken down by a collision with a Mavic?

I always fly LOS and to the height limit imposed here in Mexico (120m), but some times there are some Federal Police helicopters that fly over my house really low, or at least they seem very low (80m), thank god helicopters are really noisy so whenever I hear one, even if I can't see them, I go down immediatly to 50m. Just to be clear, I don't live near an heliport.

Welcome! Question: do you think an helicopter could be taken down by a collision with a Mavic?

Hi Gizmo. Thanks for the welcome.
In answer to your question - I have to say unfortunately YES. It’s a very relevant question and all drone flyers should work to spread awareness of the risks.
It is one of our major concerns these days flying around especially low level and when coming in for landing at an accident site.