DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Hello from SC

Dalton916

Premium Pilot
Reactions
Hey fellas, glad to sign up. I’m a Professional Land Surveyor and got my part 107 a couple weeks ago. I had my own Surveying company for many years and have worked for the USFS the last 4 years. I got my Pt 107 for that job, but the availability of drones is poor and we have to fly a set number of times each qtr to remain carded. A personal drone will meet that demand. I haven’t bought one yet, but have been doing a ton of research and am pretty sure I will be getting a Mavic 3T for various reasons.

Anyway, glad to be onboard and to learn from y’all.

got my Pt 107 for that job,

Welcome from the Hampton Roads area of Virginia, USA. We have a Member's Map in the Upper Right of the Title Bar. Click on "Members" and then Click on "Member's Map…" Check it out and you might find some new flying friends.

Congratulations on getting the part 107!

We have a whole sub-forum on the 3T, check it out…

I would suggest you also contact local colleges that teach this and speak to the facility and get their recommendations… There are also YouTube videos on the subject, check them out and see what they are using…

Good Luck!

...have worked for the USFS the last 4 years. I got my Pt 107 for that job, but the availability of drones is poor and we have to fly a set number of times each qtr to remain carded. A personal drone will meet that demand. I haven’t bought one yet, but have been doing a ton of research and am pretty sure I will be getting a Mavic 3T for various reasons.

Are you allowed to use a DJI drone for the USFS?

Just wandering about the whatever news concerning Government use of foreign made drones here in the US. 🤔

I think it's blah, blah, stuff. But before you invest, might want to check.

Otherwise, good choice of drone for the task. 👍

Last edited: