DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

High Noise in low ISO - RAW image

patkszen

Reactions
Hi All, I'm relatively new to drones and photography. I noticed from the day one that there is noticeable amount of noise in pictures,

Check two photos in .dng, one shot against the sun - looks really bad, the other with the sun behind - not as noisy but still

According to metadata of the pictures ISO was set to 100

CAS-2590726-F2W8P3 - Google Drive

Which drone are you capturing the images with?
Are you also capturing jpg images? If so, do they display the noise? If the jpg images are noise free it is possible that the noise is an artifact of the conversion from RAW to dng. You might tell us what your workflow is.

Thanks for the reply GregD

Sorry I thought that would be obvious as we are in mavic 2 zoom section. It is mavic 2 zoom.

Pictures are shot in raw as above. There was no work flow as nothing has been done to the pictures if I'm understanding you correctly. I simply copied them from my SD and opened in photoshop. If you check the link to my Gdrive there are two DNG files copied straight from the drone.

Hi sar104 first for the input

Ok so would you say after processing this is acceptable in terms of noise, considering low IOS setting?

Also what about second picture? It seem much much worse.

Thanks for the reply GregD

Sorry I thought that would be obvious as we are in mavic 2 zoom section. It is mavic 2 zoom.
. My bad.

I had assumed you had processed the images. Like sar104 said, RAW files need some processing to make them shine. Adjusting things like white balance, exposure, contrast, sharpness etc will have a huge impact.

Hi sar104 first for the input

Ok so would you say after processing this is acceptable in terms of noise, considering low IOS setting?

Also what about second picture? It seem much much worse.