DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

How low is too low? (Signal question)

jagnweiner

Reactions
Hello all. I’m a new pilot and have had my Mini 2 for about two weeks and absolutely love it. I do have a question. I’ve mostly flown in the area around my house and I’m surrounded by trees. I know my range is significantly diminished because of all the trees.

My question is this: when my range warning indicator (or whatever it’s called) goes to amber and shows two bars, how close am I to losing all radio contact? I realize the easy way to test this would be to just keep flying, let it lose contact and go into RTH mode, but because I’m surrounded by trees, I haven’t had the guts to try RTH, even though I have the altitude set pretty high.

Thanks, Scott

Hello all. I’m a new pilot and have had my Mini 2 for about two weeks and absolutely love it. I do have a question. I’ve mostly flown in the area around my house and I’m surrounded by trees. I know my range is significantly diminished because of all the trees.

My question is this: when my range warning indicator (or whatever it’s called) goes to amber and shows two bars, how close am I to losing all radio contact? I realize the easy way to test this would be to just keep flying, let it lose contact and go into RTH mode, but because I’m surrounded by trees, I haven’t had the guts to try RTH, even though I have the altitude set pretty high.

Thanks, Scott