DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

How many of you calibrated your mavic 2?

laura schlenker

Reactions
Hi guys , I'm still pretty new to the initial setup of drones, I have a mavic pro 1 and I did all the calibrations every one recommended at that time including remote control stick calibration ect. What does everyone recommend I do for the setup of my mavic pro 2? I'm sorry and I. Sure this is asked alot but I sure would appreciate your guidance.

Hey there, I am new to the 'fancy drones', so I took the liberty of doing the IMU calibration (took a few times to do correctly as the pictures were incorrect in the guide on my phone) and then the compass calibration which I THINK worked as once I did the two motions the guide disappeared and everything flew fine.

I tried doing the calibration of the control but no idea if it worked or not, I'm finding the only one of the three calibrations that gave me a "SUCCESS!" message in some form was the IMU, the other two pretty much just left me hanging not knowing if they worked.

That being said, the drone flies and it flies well, so it must've!

To answer your question though, I think these are one and done types of things unless you travel far particularly overseas you may want to do it then, but I do not think it is necessary to keep doing it once it's done once if you're just flying as normal.

I'll let the Pros pipe in but that's my 2c! :)

I only did the magnetic calibration it always wants you to do the first time you fly, and sometimes randomly if there's interference. It seemed to go a lot smoother than with my Phantom but maybe because I've done it a few times now?

Absolutely! Any knowledgeable drone pilot knows that literally the first three things you do before you a DJI drone new out of the box is...
1. Update everything... app, controller, and drone (if it shows you there is a new updatea)