DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

How to Stitch tTogether 360 Pano Photos?

Luckyguy9

Approved Vendor
Premium Pilot
Reactions
Hi all, over a year flying my mini 2, 350 flights and I'm still discovering neat features!

I just started playing with the 360 degree pano options. After the mini 2 takes the 26 photos, (pretty cool to watch it do that at low altitude) I can view them stitched together in DJI Fly on my Tripltek 8.

OK,so how do I view them on my PC? I can download all 26 photos to a directory on my PC, but I need an Autostitch program to splice them together so I get the 360 degree view . I tried "Autostitch" but that just gives me a long distorted flat panorama, not the 360 sphere view as in the DJI app.

Does anyone have any suggestions to stitch the 26 jpg photos into a spherical image that you can move around in?
Thanks

For 360º PTGui is the best stitcher, but it isn't free. You also have Hugin, wich is free and delivers nice results too.

You can also connect the phone to the PC and copy the stitched images that made the drone, they may serve you if you need a low res panorma.

Reactions: Robert Prior
I also tried to copy the stitched image, but it doesn't produce the cute "tiny planet" image. Instead it shows a heavily distorted "panorama".
Is there a program to convert this distorted image to a tiny planet?

Most 360 stitchers can make the tiny planet projection, in PTGui is called "stereographic down".

For stitching I get the best results from PTGUI Pro. They have a free trial so you can try it out.

I've also used Hugin and got good results, but I do enough spherical panoramas that I found PTGUI worth paying for.

For editing spherical panoramas I like Affinity Photo. It has a mode letting you zoom around the panorama like in a viewer, so you can easily edit the zenith and nadir. I find this particularly useful for filling in the missing sky.