DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

I got questioned by a Real Pilot.

cammyjams

Reactions
I was legally flying in zero grid in Class B last night and a 'real pilot' (sort of) confronted me.

Him: Hey, you realize this is Bravo right? (I was up shooting at this point)
Me: I do, I'm working right now but I can chat in a minute when I land my aircraft
Him: You're not allowed to fly in Bravo
Me: (who was wearing my 107 card clipped to my safety vest) Are you law enforcement?
Him No I'm a real pilot, you're not allowed to fly in Bravo
Me: (still watching my aircraft) My name's ______ what's yours?
Him: Mark
Me: Hi Mark I am a real pilot too and this is my FAA part 107 license (points at vest) I am authorized to 200' AGL this evening at this location, and I've notified Metro in advance of this mission too. They're watching me on the Fusion Watch system right now.
Him: You guys can DO that?
Me: Those of us who follow the rules can, we're allowed to share this airspace up to 400' AGL.
Him: Oh, I didn't know that, huh, way cool, can I see what you're getting?
Me: Sure, here's the shot I'm taking right now. (shows him RC screen)
Him: Holy s**t that's badass! Man I so need to get me one of these things!

I then landed and we talked the usual stock questions for a few minutes. Mark turned out to be a great guy.
I handed him my business card and he went on his way.

Kindness counts.

A great example of how flying legally (and being able to prove it by carrying your license and registration) can make a huge difference when you are approached by others.
Your conversation with him could have easily gone very different had you been breaking the law.
Here in Canada, you MUST be able to produce the following items on demand to fly legally (above 250G category):
1. Your Pilot's license.
2. Your Registration certificate for the Aircraft along with the Registration number on the Aircraft.