DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Just another buyers remorse thread

nick779

Reactions
Hi guys,

I'm on the fence here. I have a Mini 2 on the way and have been borrowing a friends to test it out. I don't have a whole lot of spare time on my hands, but I have missed flying around when I do have it. I decided to buy when I saw how far the ultralight's have come since the Spark as I've been a hobby photographer for a few years now and have flown quads off and on starting with FPV and ending with a Mavic Pro back in ~2017. No matter what seems to happen, I have a tendency to want to fly every now and then but the regulations are making it harder and harder to "just go explore" legally considering VLOS rules.

The performance of the Mini 2 is great, but I hesitate to open what I ordered. I'm not sure how often I can fly or if I'll use it much as a camera/videography drone. Come to think of it, I don't think were doing any travel for the rest of the year. I guess it's one of those I want it moments for when I can fly, but I can also return it unopened and maybe buy next spring. Then again, who knows what's going to happen with RemoteID and ultralights in the future? Can you tell I worry alot?

I guess there are lots of reasons why we buy drones including for commercial use, because we enjoy the photography aspect or, like me, just for the fun of it. If it’s the latter, even if it’s an impulse buy, I say go for it. Maybe you won’t fly it too often, maybe a higher spec one will be available next year, maybe legislation changes will make it obsolete but carpe diem... go out there, fly your drone and just have fun. There’s just not enough of that right now.

You probably have at LEAST 2 years of flying before RID comes in though, the mini fits well the sub 250g category, and can do exactly what you want right NOW.