DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Just got my Mavic Air today! - first thought.

ericlksdrone

Reactions
Hello fellow pilots. I just got my Mavic Air this morning and I'm so excited as this will be my first drone!

After charging it, I went out to fly the beast(which I named Drogon) right away :) I have never felt so scared in my life before when I fly the drone, thinking that it will crash any minute. Whenever it was near an obstacle my heart skips a heart LMAO. I guess that's how we all felt when we were a newbie pilot eh.

Some thoughts and questions after my first flight:

1. BATTERY : I'm actually quite disappointed with the flight time. On average I would say I only get 13 mins flight time out of each battery (I have 3). Also the battery drains fast even when it is powered on and not flying! As I am an enthusiast photographer, you can imagine I spent some minute to change the settings to make sure that my picture quality and everything is taken care of before I fly. But when I take off that beast, it is already at 80% battery.

My question is that if there is any way to change the camera settings etc without powering on the drone itself. As I want to make sure that my flight time is optimum without wasting any juice to settings changing.

2. CONTROL MODE: As I am a gamer (ps4). I quickly changed my controller mode to 3 as it is more similar to gaming controller. However when I changed it to mode 2 it kinda felt right as well. So I'm debating which is better. Comment below which mode do you use?

3. SD Size: I know there are lots of topic discussing on which SD best suits mavic air. But my question is more on how big is the SD size should I get?