DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Kittyhawk and LAANC

downtown0309

Reactions
I'm new to all this. I downloaded the Kittyhawk app to use if I have to get approval from LAANC. So I'm navigating around the app to get a feel for it and it doesn't work like the others I see on Youtube. First off, when I click on the plus sign "add" at the bottom, it doesn't give me the option for LAANC Auth. and second, there are no grids "colored squares" on my maps. Any tips ?

I'm new to all this. I downloaded the Kittyhawk app to use if I have to get approval from LAANC. So I'm navigating around the app to get a feel for it and it doesn't work like the others I see on Youtube. First off, when I click on the plus sign "add" at the bottom, it doesn't give me the option for LAANC Auth. and second, there are no grids "colored squares" on my maps. Any tips ?
Hi Downtown.
If I may suggest. Download the AirMap app. I find it easier to use than the Kittyhawk app. It has LAANC access as well. See what you think.

Click on the green button 'Maps' near the center bottom of the screen. That will get you the grid map. Click where you want to fly and you will get a placemark there. Then click the blue oval button with the airspace identifier in it. That will cause a screen to come up showing the various types of controlled airspace at your placemark. On that screen is a 'Get Authorization' button. Click that to get LAANC authorization.
Kittyhawk is probably not as intuitive as AirMap the first time, but it works very well and is very reliable. Airmap has failed me several times in the past.

Reactions: Bobvt and japharl
Thanks guys. For some reason the airport near me has no grids. I moved down toward Nashville's airport and there are the grids. Maybe my airport doesn't use LAANC. It's near a military base.