DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

LAANC true altitude question

DougMcC

Part 107, SEL Instrument 101st ABN
Premium Pilot
Reactions
I am a part 107 pilot and now fly in Long Beach, CA. My preferred LAANC clearance area is at the very periphery of the control area and the altitude limit is always 100 feet. Here’s my question. The airport’s elevation is 60 feet ASL. My launch site is nearly 5 miles away and I am at sea level on the beach. After launch am I limited to 99 feet above launch OR 159 feet? I have to date simply observed the easy 100 feet but in truth I believe the clearance is “remain below 100 feet above the Airport surface” . Thus is flying at 159 feet legal for a LANNC clearance into a 100 ft zone when the issuing airport is at 60 ft ASL? Thanks in advance for your thoughts.

Reactions: LinkerBlue
I am a part 107 pilot and now fly in Long Beach, CA. My preferred LAANC clearance area is at the very periphery of the control area and the altitude limit is always 100 feet. Here’s my question. The airport’s elevation is 60 feet ASL. My launch site is nearly 5 miles away and I am at sea level on the beach. After launch am I limited to 99 feet above launch OR 159 feet? I have to date simply observed the easy 100 feet but in truth I believe the clearance is “remain below 100 feet above the Airport surface” . Thus is flying at 159 feet legal for a LANNC clearance into a 100 ft zone when the issuing airport is at 60 ft ASL? Thanks in advance for your thoughts.

It's interesting that the LAANC documentation never mentions AGL in showing ceiling limits for authorizations. The authorization altitude has to be AGL, though. Otherwise, there would be no operations allowed at airports with an elevation of 400' or greater.

Reactions: LinkerBlue