DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Learning to take photos

Anjulis

Reactions
This is my first drone and I am just learning how to take photos and videos with it. So far, results are disappointing. Taking photos: settings are on Auto, all faces are overexposed, even though, the rest of the photo is not that bad. Is there anything I should do, other than go to a manual and set the exposure each time?
Also, there doesn't seem to be much zoom, is that right? Tried to photograph wildlife, cannot do it from afar and it gets scared when I fly closer

I would appreciate any advice on how to start making better photos

This is my first drone and I am just learning how to take photos and videos with it. So far, results are disappointing. Taking photos: settings are on Auto, all faces are overexposed, even though, the rest of the photo is not that bad. Is there anything I should do, other than go to a manual and set the exposure each time?
Also, there doesn't seem to be much zoom, is that right? Tried to photograph wildlife, cannot do it from afar and it gets scared when I fly closer

I would appreciate any advice on how to start making better photos

It won't let me see the photos tells me I don't have permission to view the album

The only real zoom you will get is digital zoom in post. The best way is to just fly closer to the subject to avoid any resolution loss.

I can't see the photos you've linked but I would experiment with all camera settings such a HDR shots, camera profile colours/sharpness etc. Also it will need some work in post editing - lightrooms for example

If you are not comfortable using manual, you can keep the settings on auto and use the EV adjustment at the bottom to change the exposure. If faces are over exposed, try setting it to around -0.3

Reactions: Anjulis