DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Legal advice needed

Status
Not open for further replies.

marcorasi1960

Reactions
I have been flying a Mavic 2 for a year, and I need legal advice on some matters related to my photographs. Can anyone recommend a lawyer who is knowledgeable about drones? I have been taking a lot of still photographs in a city in Louisiana, and posting them on social media. They have become very popular in the city that they portray. To the point that a local well-known and highly respected historian and university professor has proposed that we publish a book, with my photographs and his comments on what they illustrate. It sounds like a fun thing to do, but I have two concerns: (1) Since I am an amateur drone pilot and photographer, am I allowed to publish the photos I took, or do I need to get some type of commercial license to do that? (2) The rules on where a drone can be flown seem very fuzzy to me; the FAA rules are clear and I always follow them; but local rules are unclear or inexistent, and sometimes someone tells me I cannot fly over a certain park or building, and I can never figure out what the laws and regulations really are. By publishing my photos in a book, am I exposing myself to legal trouble? I would very much appreciate any perspective that anyone could offer, in particular information that would lead me to a legal expert that could tell me if my concerns are founded or if I am worrying too much and there is no real exposure. I would be happy to pay the appropriate fees for such expert legal advice.