DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Locating coordinates

Horn Hunter

Reactions
I'm new to the drone world and have a question. Is it possible to retrieve the coordinates (lat/long) of an object you have just taken a picture of on a flight? I believe they exist somewhere in the photos information but haven't been able to figure out how to actually see them.

I'm new to the drone world and have a question. Is it possible to retrieve the coordinates (lat/long) of an object you have just taken a picture of on a flight? I believe they exist somewhere in the photos information but haven't been able to figure out how to actually see them.
A simple way to do this on a Win machine is to go into File Explorer, right click on the image file and select 'Properties', then click on the 'Details' tab.... you should see the GPS Lat/Long coordinates down the bottom.

A batter way would be to install one of the many EXIF tools available..... eg, ExifTool by Phil Harvey, here: ExifTool by Phil Harvey or ExifToolGUI here: ExifToolGUI

Thanks. I should have said I would be wanting to do this in the field with the smart controller if possible.

That can be done with a Mavic 2 Enterprise model and the Smartcontroller.

The Pilot app displays Lat/Long coordinates on screen. In addition, images taken can have Lat/Long superimposed in the image for later processing

By Pilot app do you mean the DJI Go4 app or is there a different app? If so do you have a screenshot of what you are referring to? Thanks for any help you can provide. Being 77 years old I have a little trouble picking up on the technology.

Reactions: WAXMAN
By Pilot app do you mean the DJI Go4 app or is there a different app? If so do you have a screenshot of what you are referring to? Thanks for any help you can provide. Being 77 years old I have a little trouble picking up on the technology.

Pilot app is a different app. It’s intended use is for Enterprise models.