DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Looking for help to figure out a Fly-away.

Abdinhk

Reactions
Fortunately it had a happy ending and I recovered the drone after wading into thick brush and getting very cut up. I had only flown the drone a short distance above me and in front of me, when it suddenly flew forward about 20 to 30 yards, didn't seem to respond to the sticks and the RTH button on the controller didn't seem to respond either. It flew up and forward. I don't think I brought it down and it certainly didn't return to home. Fortunately it was only about 30 yards in front of my when it landed and like I said, I got it back. But I am a newbie and trying to figure out how to avoid further scares like this in the future. Here is the flight log. Thanks

DJI Flight Log Viewer - PhantomHelp.com

Fortunately it had a happy ending and I recovered the drone after wading into thick brush and getting very cut up. I had only flown the drone a short distance above me and in front of me, when it suddenly flew forward about 20 to 30 yards, didn't seem to respond to the sticks and the RTH button on the controller didn't seem to respond either. It flew up and forward. I don't think I brought it down and it certainly didn't return to home. Fortunately it was only about 30 yards in front of my when it landed and like I said, I got it back. But I am a newbie and trying to figure out how to avoid further scares like this in the future. Here is the flight log. Thanks

A couple of things you need to check before you fly. If the drone is new out the box, have you correctly calibrated the compass?
Did you initially calibrate it over an area containing rebar or with some metal such as a watch nearby?