Get the most from your Mavic
Join thousands of Mavic owners helping each other
Join Us Now

MA loses signal all the time

Sharvul

Member
Joined
Jun 29, 2018
Messages
10
Reaction score
6
Age
41
Just hit my new MA. Took it on holidays with me. All videos taken on the beach when the drone is out in the open sea. No interference at all. Drone in clear sight with nothing between us. Lost connection and got aircraft disconnected with auto return to home at 215 meters only. What might be the issue?
 
Last edited:

martinbanshee

Member
Joined
Jun 14, 2018
Messages
21
Reaction score
15
Age
50
CE or FCC mode?
I’m in the U.K. and since switching to FCC mode the signal quality is much more reliable.
 

MrRobville

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 2, 2018
Messages
195
Reaction score
150
This may sound dumb, but gotta ask; have you unfolded the landing gear on the front arms? And positioned the antenna on the controller to face the drone with the side instead of pointing at it?
 

Sharvul

Member
Joined
Jun 29, 2018
Messages
10
Reaction score
6
Age
41
CE or FCC mode?
I’m in the U.K. and since switching to FCC mode the signal quality is much more reliable.
Sorry I'm new to this. How do I know which mode it is in? What's the difference between the two? I bought mine at amazon Germany. Using it in Europe mainly. Currently in Croatia. Mostly in the Czech Republic.
 

MrRobville

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 2, 2018
Messages
195
Reaction score
150
Sorry I'm new to this. How do I know which mode it is in? What's the difference between the two? I bought mine at amazon Germany. Using it in Europe mainly. Currently in Croatia. Mostly in the Czech Republic.
Croatia will be CE, so is the Czech rep., which is based by European rules whereas FCC goes by American standards which allows a more powerful transmission. I'm not sure which rules apply to which countries specifically, but its safe to say any country in Europe will be CE.
The quad will automatically select the transmission mode, though you can fake your location to make DJI Go think you are in the USA, thus allowing a more powerful connection. Granted you have taken all the necessary steps to allow a proper transmission in the first place like I mentioned above.
 

charlas

Well-Known Member
Joined
May 28, 2018
Messages
452
Reaction score
162
Age
46
Yeah I'd switch to fcc mode straight away, will improve dramatically. Also line of site is one thing, but if flying over populated areas 2.4 and 5 ghz are congested areas, use a wifi scanner to see how congested the area is, affects range significantly. Although in Benidorm (congested area) in FCC mode I had over 1km range without issues.

Make sure landing gear is down (its the antenna) and make sure the antenna on the controller are vertical to the drone.
 

Oldass

Member
Joined
Jul 3, 2018
Messages
11
Reaction score
0
Age
44
Sorry I'm new to this. How do I know which mode it is in? What's the difference between the two? I bought mine at amazon Germany. Using it in Europe mainly. Currently in Croatia. Mostly in the Czech Republic.
Put phone/tablet to Airplane mode to switch off GSM, BT and Wifi on the phone/tablet. It helps a lot on many devices.
 

mad monkey

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 24, 2018
Messages
676
Reaction score
340
Age
37
Location
St. Thomas Ontario
Can we set 5.8 manually? Mine always seems to be flying in 2.4. Since I'm practicing in a subdivision I wanna maybe use the less travelled band.
 

charlas

Well-Known Member
Joined
May 28, 2018
Messages
452
Reaction score
162
Age
46
All E RC Mavic Drones

New Threads

Forum statistics

Threads
80,409
Messages
930,847
Members
108,702
Latest member
achaoticsoul