DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

MA weak GPS, IMU calibration errors...

OG Steve-O

Reactions
Hey all. I’m new to drones and just got my Mavic Air in the mail. After updating firmware, calibrating compass, controller and IMU, I have ran into a couple issues.

I live in a populated area not like LA or Manhattan so I figured I’d give it a go in the front yard.

I waited for GPS for quite some time and decided (for a minute or two) to use Atti just so I can get a feel for it. After turning off the unit and the controller several times and about 12 Atti flights I decided to try against the next day.

I tried again and was able to get GPS located but was weak the entire time. I flew it about 200 feet straight up and there was no issues other than weak GPS.

Today, I again flew it straight up and got several notifications of no GPS, RTH... video was super lagged and I was only at 240 feet.

I am going to try to see if I can get to a less dense area to try it again.

Has anyone else had this happen? I’m just not sure if it is a hardware issue or a location issue.

Thanks for the input. Remember, I’m new. Lol.

More info needed.
New unit? Used?
Why did you feel the need to do all the calibrateing?

More info needed.
New unit? Used?
Why did you feel the need to do all the calibrateing?
New unit.
Initially when I took it out it gave me a “compass error recalibration needed” notice. So I did it. It took 2 times for it to succeed. Then, it showed IMU calibration error so I did that as well. Both were done after the errors.
I figured since those weren’t ok, I’ll do the remote too. Just for good measure.

nothing attached to the ac that would deflect gps signal?

At two hundred feet up, gps signal should not be an issue.
I would be looking at my return policy. Maybe post the flight log here so one of the experts can help decipher what it’s actually doing.

Ok. Thank u.