DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

mAss state regs about flying locations

qwerty53

Reactions
MA has bunch or rules about inability to fly over DCR managed properties (including waterways), private property.......
How is this possible? I thought FAA was the only authority to regulate airspace. (I am not talking about take off and landing).
Can you help a newbie here?

"Federal statutes give the FAA comprehensive and exclusive authority to regulate aviation safety and the efficient use of the airspace, and the FAA has issued a complex set of regulations in these areas. States may not regulate in those fields."

MA has bunch or rules about inability to fly over DCR managed properties (including waterways), private property.......
How is this possible? I thought FAA was the only authority to regulate airspace. (I am not talking about take off and landing).
Can you help a newbie here?

"Federal statutes give the FAA comprehensive and exclusive authority to regulate aviation safety and the efficient use of the airspace, and the FAA has issued a complex set of regulations in these areas. States may not regulate in those fields."

Others will have a different response to your question but my general answer is whenever the federal government is asleep at the wheel or looking the other way, states and other law makers will step in and make their own laws or rules and regulations. It's like this with anything whether we are talking about drones or not. The only way to stop them is to take them to court and you better believe it won't be the FAA to take them court because they could care less. It's up to the drone community.

Here's an example: