Join Us Now

Mavic 2 Zoom

GFields

Staff Member
Premium Pilot
Reactions
Site
digitalphotocreations.co
I have owned my Mavic 2 Zoom since Jan 2019 and have many great flights. However, while flying yesterday, it fell from the sky without warning. The video file was corrupted in the crash and I'm trying to repair it. I have uploaded the flight record log and hope that some of the experts might be able to tell what happened. The flight log can be viewed here (DJI Flight Log Viewer - PhantomHelp.com).

I have been flying for over six years.

Reactions: E90RAW
To me it looked like it hit something. Did you recover it?

The only thing at 170 feet AGL would be a bird perhaps. Yes I recovered it.

The only thing at 170 feet AGL would be a bird perhaps. Yes I recovered it.
Glad you recovered it. Did it land on the roof of the house, or close by? And was the battery by any chance still in the body of the drone?

Could be a birdstrike, seems like either that, or the battery dislodging. Though you where flying in a straight line.

How old was the battery? And have you noticed any swelling on it, or on any other battery’s that you have and most likely treated the same way as this.

You could try and post the flight log here, it might provide some insights to what happened. You could also try to upload the log to Drone Data Management and Flight Analysis | Airdata UAV that presents some more data including battery data and cell voltage.

Glad you recovered it. Did it land on the roof of the house, or close by? And was the battery by any chance still in the body of the drone?

Could be a birdstrike, seems like either that, or the battery dislodging. Though you where flying in a straight line.

How old was the battery? And have you noticed any swelling on it, or on any other battery’s that you have and most likely treated the same way as this.