DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Maximum height

MyAir

Reactions
Newbie here. Mavic Air just out of the box and a couple of practice sessions on beginner setting.
Question is if I am standing at the top of an ocean cliff and launch the Air and it goes out over the cliff and the height from sea level is say 150 metres how will it react given the maximum height is set at 30m?
Will it just drop down to 30m above the ocean? Then I might have trouble getting down to recover it.
Or will it just sound a warning and return home?
Don't want to risk trying it without knowing.
Thanks

Reactions: WAXMAN
It will not drop but stay at what ever height you are at from where you took off.
Welcome to the forum.

I would highly suggest you read the online manual and
watch some YouTube videos before you get to adventureist.

Reactions: Porky
The altitude is in reference to the take off point, so nothing different will happen just because you fly over a cliff. If you actually descend below the cliff, the device will start showing a negative altitude since you are below your takeoff point.

The altitude is in reference to the take off point, so nothing different will happen just because you fly over a cliff. If you actually descend below the cliff, the device will start showing a negative altitude since you are below your takeoff point.

Yup. As dawgpilot says, the height is always in relation to the starting point where you launch the drone from.

Also be weary of flying off cliffs due to wind shears and gusts (best not to fly off too close to the ground, at least on the first pass just in case your drone gets flipped upside down)

Yup. As dawgpilot says, the height is always in relation to the starting point where you launch the drone from.

Also be weary of flying off cliffs due to wind shears and gusts (best not to fly off too close to the ground, at least on the first pass just in case your drone gets flipped upside down)