DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Mini 3 or Mini 3 Pro?

kevguy

Reactions
Hi. I’m looking into getting into flying a drone as a hobby. I have never done it before and I have zero experience in the area.

I’ve been pouring over the web and YouTube trying to get myself educated on what’s out there and where to begin.

I’m in Canada and have decided to stick with a less than 250g drone to begin with. With that I have narrowed it down to the mini 3 or the mini 3 pro both with the fly more kit.

I like the idea of the obstacle avoidance on the pro as I will be nervous of crashing the thing. I’ve learned that the pro is not the “be all and end all” of crash avoidance though. In that case, maybe I could just stick with a mini 3?

This has probably been hashed here before and I apologize, but it seems to be a constant dilemma for new pilots.

Reactions: RayKelly
If you haven't done so already, you can compare the main differences between those drones here.

The front obstacle avoidance would be nice to have, but I don't think I'd get the Pro if that's the only feature I wanted. Obstacle avoidance is great until it doesn't work. It's safer to manually pilot the drone around obstacles (or don't fly near them) whenever possible.

As for the other features, I'd definitely go for the Mini 3 Pro to get OcuSync 3, higher quality live view, and better photos/videos. But, if none of those things matter, then maybe save a few bucks and get the Mini 3 instead.

Welcome the forum Kev.
Good on you for doing some research, and you nailed it with the main difference being OA or no OA . . .

These little drones pretty much fly themselves, very stable etc with hovering and flight behaviour.
Get good GPS (home point) recorded and you will generally be fine.