DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Mini won't land in RTH

Fogo

Reactions
Hello fellow droners. I am very new to this and was wondering if you could shed some light on this situation? I have had my mini for about a month now and from day one when it is in the RTH it does everything wonderfully until the last 1.5 meters ( take off and landing are from a cleared off side walk). The the app tells me it can't land because of something to do with the ground ( can't remember the exact wording the program uses). So I have to finish the landing manually. Now I do live in Canada and there is still snow on the ground and I am not sure if this is affecting the RTH or not? Any ideas?

Thanks

The downward sensors have two components, one for height (I think it's about 18") and the other visually checks the landing area. It needs to see some definition/contrast or you get the warning. Snow covering doesn't have enough detail so then it hesitates and you get the warning. You can override if you want to continue to land by holding down the throttle stick and it will say "landing" and descent the last few feet. Continue down on the stick as usual to shut off the motors.

In snowy conditions I usually put my hand out which it can detect and will pause or rise a few inches when it sees it, then I keep my hand still and pull the stick down. It will gently land and I keep my hand still and the stick down until the motors cut off. If you lower your hand before shut off, the accelerometers will sense the movement and the motors will speed up to hover.

Reactions: old man mavic
good info in post #2 you would be better off using a landing pad if you don't fancy hand catching you MM it hovers to protect the drone from landing in say water or in your case snow,it is very low to the ground and a landing pad will stop it getting damaged all the mavics have this feature

Reactions: WooZie