DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

My DJI app crashes

Steve LaBranche

Reactions
Newbie here. Mavic 2 pro. I know how to fly but the DJI go 4 app seems to crash often. Not my bird but the app. When it happens I hit hover and restart the DJI go 4 app. Recover, then it happens again. All updates are current. Display is a Samsung S7.

Am I doing something wrong? Suggestions and options welcome.

Steve LaBranche

Hi Steve, with Samsung it really helps for stability of connection to activate USB Debugging.
You do this by turning it on in Go4 on the first page under the me icon then the dots top right. You also need to activate "Developer Options" in your phone settings and turn on USB debugging. (Google Developer Options) to see how.
This keeps the USB port alive and communicating between RC and Go4 app.
One other important thing is to start RC and drone first then plug cable into phone and let RC invoke the Go4 app, which you say yes to.
DO NOT START Go4 yourself. It's important that the RC invokes the app, this keeps the connection active and alive and prevents any disconects.

Could be the Samsung thing.
My Samsung Galaxy Tab A6 connects to my Mavic but will not connect to my Mi drone.
It has no option for USB tethering even in developer options.
For some reason the GO4 app opens when I connect up to my Mavic but I can only use it on the Mi if I go wi/fi to the controller.

Great info guys, thank you for replying. I will try all of the suggestions. I'm using the short cable to connect to left side of controller not the USB connector.

However I did try to use the long USB to "C" type connector to my ASUS P008, 8" screen tablet. But the tablet didn't detect the controller. So, I'll try the enabling developer option on it.

Thanks again guys, I'll update my success or failure results.

Steve

I had problems with the port on the left and the DJI cable. Now use a short Anker cable and the big usb port bottom middle