DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

New Mavic Air Pilot Questions

bmoore1118

Reactions
Good Day everyone. I am new to drone flying and new to mavicpilots.com.

I have been a still (ground) photographer for over 10 years but decided to take the next step and get into drones as a hobby. I got the fly more mavic air pack at best buy on a screaming sale. I have been flying all weekend and love love love this thing. I know the photos are not going to be the best because if the fixed focus but the 4k video is stunning. I love flying (almost had my single engine license until life got in the way) so flying drones comes easy to me.

I just had a few questions before i embark.

Are there any tips and tricks that people have to make sure I have fun and stay safe. (I am aware of the faa rules)?

Are there any accessories that people would recommend me buying?

Anything else people can let me know about please let me know.

Thank you all!!!

Don’t underestimate that little camera! Shoot RAW and fly during blue and golden hours. You will be pleasantly surprised!

I would say a first must buy is a set of good ND filters.

Reactions: Flying Nun

d154963bbcb90b1366106cf626884a4e.jpg

Unfamiliar with those.
These are the ones I use, and they are a great set.

Reactions: dawgpilot
I would say a carrying case too, preferably customized for the Mavic Air and its accessories. I purchased the fly more combo package but quickly realized what an advantage having a proper carrying case for the Air plus accessories would be. It ensures you have all your gear you may need in one place while out flying. Best way to keep it safe too.

Reactions: dragontw
Learn how to slow the controls and gimbal down in the app. It will make any footage you get so much better and
more satisfying when you sit down to view it.