DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

New pilot from Belgium

Spectro

Reactions
Hi all,

My name is Fred and I am based in Belgium. I just ordered my first drone (DJI Mavic Mini 2) but still have to receive it. I have never flown a drone before so it's all new to me.

I'm aware that a lot will change in Belgium as of 1.1.2021. For now, as a recreational pilot I can only fly at a maximum altitude of 10 meters and only above my private property. However, as of 1.1.2021, recreational pilots using a drone that weighs less than 250 grams (which is the case for the Mini 2) will be allowed to fly up to a maximum altitude of 120 meters everywhere, except for no-fly zones of course.

As this drone is equiped with a camera, I will have to register as a pilot as of 1.1.2021. This is a registration of the identity of the pilot, not be to be mistaken with registration of the drone itself (which is NOT necessary for this kind of drone).

Problem : I can't seem to find any information or documents about this registration as a pilot as of 1.1.2021. Only documents for a registration of a drone are to be found online.

Any of the Belgian drone pilots in here know how we will have to register as a pilot and what the cost will be ?

Thanks !

Fred

welcome to the forum,if you go on your countries government web site ,like the CAA in the UK or FAA in the US then there should be infomation on how you register and what requirements you will need for the new rules

Welcome to the forum! :)

Welcome to the forum.
I hope you will find our site helpful and look forward to any input , photo's/video's you might post .
Don't be shy and ask anything if you can't find it by searching . ?

welcome to the forum,if you go on your countries government web site ,like the CAA in the UK or FAA in the US then there should be infomation on how you register and what requirements you will need for the new rules