DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Newbie Question On VLOS (UK)

as400

Reactions
Hi all Newbie here from UK.

I am reading you must never loose sight of your drone when flying which sounds fair enough.

My eyesight isn't brilliant with my advancing age, I can see a drome maybe up to 100 ft away, but I am seeing drones being advertised with a 3KM range!...how on earth do you see it when its that far away?

With ones mobile phone would you be seeing what the drone sees sort of thing?...are they in contact?...not sure how it works TBH!

Thanks!

how on earth do you see it when its that far away?
You don't, and can't, even with 20-20 vision ! The 3km possible range should be a big comfort to you in that it is a huge safety margin in terms of signal loss, but in this country at least (UK), and most others, you can't legally use anything like that range, not even with a spotter, who also can't see much meaningfully beyond what you can, standing near to you as the law states they must be.

It's worse than that in that not only do we have to be able to see it, but also judge its orientation, which is orders of magnitude harder if you don't have nav lights or are operating a smaller drone that may or may not have them, or have them on whilst recording ! Also remember that often the landscape, or obstacles in it will usually dictate much smaller limits, and that is usually not much further than you could see anyway. There's no faster way to lose signal completely in one surprising hit than by dropping down behind a tree bank, and that can happen as close as 50 ft to you !