DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Newby Decision: Which Mavic to Buy

DavidRansier

Reactions
I have flown a bunch of “toy” drones, no cameras. I am a still photographer thinking that adding Drone photography would be a lot of fun. Actually, we will be doing a lot of RVing in the next few years and I thought it would be great to chronical our trips with aerial video. Also thinking I could do some aerial projects for my website clients.

So my question is, which drone should I buy. I have enough money to buy a new Mavic Air Combo, but I see there are used Pro’s and Platinum’s in the Classified section.

Should I buy a new Air, or search out one of the used drones? Is the Air enough for now, or should I get a Pro or Pro Platinum?

Thanks for any suggestions you may have.

Well I had a blade 350 qx (still do) and its a good quad. But I could never get good video from it. I tried the ebay gimbals, better props etc etc but all to no avail. So I did my research and narrowed it down to 3. The air, pro or pro2.
Further research concluded that the mavic pro was within budget, had good flight time, had been more or less beta tested and didn't suffer random flyaway's. On the down side, DJI quads (I detest the word drone, it conjures up images of the death machines used in warfare and they have negative public connotations anyway) are not easy to repair at home.
So that's the one I settled with. Im a few weeks into it and the more I fly it, the more confident I am with it and that camera.......... Video is ROCK steady. Exactly what I wanted.
Well chuffed. You wont be disappointed with any of them.
The mavic pro has a very very good digital zoom as well.

Well I had a blade 350 qx (still do) and its a good quad. But I could never get good video from it. I tried the ebay gimbals, better props etc etc but all to no avail. So I did my research and narrowed it down to 3. The air, pro or pro2.