DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

NEWBY I AM GOING LOOSE IT

Your just going to have to "Send it"...Grit your teeth and let her fly my man :) Time will give you experience and trust...but you have to leave that bubble, now is as good as any time. Remember this...It is not if you crash but when. I have been flying R/C for over 30 years and I still crash, although years apart now. With 10 acres you got plenty of field to cover...you don't say what your flying but if a GPS equipped drone...RTH button is your friend...they almost never fail...note I said almost...but I have never had it fail in over 1000 uses. ;)

Set the drone on the ground at the usual spot, switch it on and walk out into the garden maybe 10yds or so, then command the drone to take off and fly around a bit, including over to you but ABOVE you. Repeat at greater distances.
Remember that the home point was probably set to the take off point NOT the controller or you.

Last edited:
I am new, and i have a pathological fear of loosing it, been in the garden yo-yoing up and down and back and forward, my garden is 10 acres and i am using 10sq ft how do i overcome this fear

Hello from the Crossroads of America robbymax.

Just make sure the Home Point has been updated before you launch. The RTH (return to home) function seems to work well if needed.

My second flight with the Spark years ago resulted in losing sight of the aircraft and the screen was washed out by the sunlight so I couldn't fly with the phone.

I hit the RTH button and within a minute I heard the little guy coming home. :)

Good luck and welcome to the Forum. :cool:

I am new, and i have a pathological fear of loosing it, been in the garden yo-yoing up and down and back and forward, my garden is 10 acres and i am using 10sq ft how do i overcome this fear
Welcome to the forum . . . its a smart bird. It'll find its way back home.

Reactions: Pondhopper