DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Noise/Grain

DeLorean2015

Reactions
Went out this evening to get some footage of the sunset. All of my pictures and videos (D-Cinelike & HDR) came out though with a lot of noise/grain. I know this is a small sensor and all but I feel like I should be getting much less grain than this.
Any advice? (I'm a newbie)
ISO @ 100

Noise.Grain.JPG

Reactions: floridabeachbum
Like you said it is a small sensor and this kind of image with a very high dynamic range is going to be a challenge for it. Perhaps you could get slightly better results if you shoot RAW in AEB mode and merge these in to a HDR image yourself.

Reactions: DeLorean2015
Ah, well a little bit of a bummer but makes sense. Wanted to ask to make sure I wasn’t missing something obvious that would help. Thanks!
Don't get me wrong, I don't mean to imply that is the absolute best you can get. I don't yet own the MA2 but I have owned the MA1 for more than a year and I have shot sunsets more times than I care to count. I have faced the same issue time and time again. While the MA2 has a larger sensor than the MA1, it is still tiny as camera sensors go and it will struggle to capture the full dynamic range in a setting like this. However, I can almost certainly say that you can do better; much better. It will however require a lot more effort on your side.