DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

North Carolina bans aerial mapping without a surveying license

Dalton916

Premium Pilot
Reactions

I wouldn’t be the least bit surprised to see SC follow NC’s lead on this.

Not a constitutional issue if you’re surveying without a license. You can’t practice medicine without a license, you can’t practice law without a license, you can’t practice engineering without a license…….theres a lot of them. They’re all regulated to protect the public as they all provide a service to the public.

Last edited:
I agree. I am a CPA and I had to work hard to earn the rights to attest to financial statements. The Constitution is not the issue here - it is a non-qualified and non-credentialed individual trying to do things that are not legal.

I agree 95% of what this organization stands for. I will never support any government effort to use regulations to stand in the way of freedom and capitalism and a free market by disguising it as public safety or national security.

To view this content we will need your consent to set third party cookies.
For more detailed information, see our cookies page.

Reactions: blitzen
I've talked with Michael about this. We as an industry need to get behind him. They are appealing this again, so hopefully this will still be overturned. I'm not sure why they chose the first amendment argument, but hopefully I'll know more soon.

It only applies to land boundaries and property location.

My conversation with NC Board of Engineers: