DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Opinions please. Buying Air1 vs Air2 in 2022

alex38313

Reactions
I am thinking of buying a lightly used Mavic air1 fly more package for $330. Do you guys think it’s worth it or spend like $500 on a used air2 fly more package instead? I am pretty new to the drones and am not a professional photographer but trying to get into it as a hobby and for vids and pics on vacation and hiking. Only drone I had before was a spark. Is it worth it for $330 for the original air in 2022 or wait for an air2 for $500? Opinions greatly appreciated!

Hello from the Crossroads of America alex38313.

Only drone I had before was a spark.

That was my first drone as well. Tough little bird.

When the MA1 was released, I thought about upgrading to the Mavic line with the assumption it had the OcuSync transmission system like its bigger brothers, but it has enhanced Wi-Fi. instead that may not be as good. 🤔

The MA1 may be a fine aircraft, but when the MA2 was released, I knew this was the upgrade I wanted to the humble little Spark.

Good luck and welcome to the Forum. 😎

MA1 batteries are obsolete, and no aftermarket ones available as far as I am aware . . . that’s one important consideration.

Lightly used might mean the package sat around unused for long periods, and that can lead to damaged batteries if they depleted too far in voltage.

Make sure flymore batts are A1, reasonably low charge cycle counts, cells all ok and balance fine when charged.

Another is MA1 is wifi and a little less range, though my brother in-laws regularly got him well out to VLOS range in good signal LOS situations.

If choice is MA1 or Air 2, spend the extra $170, again extra care with battery condition, a test flight and check if those is a great idea for 2nd hand if possible to buy local.

The Air 2 is a fine aircraft, but as long as you watch maximum wind speeds, have you considered the Mini 2 ?