DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Out of signal range waypoint missions

I can see what happened, because I watch the videos when the drone gets home. I am far away from any planes.
I was a student pilot too. I don't think there's any pattern at this airport. They always seem to fly straight in, and takeoff straight out.
Actually, I'm not flying that waypoint mission anymore, because I'm flying new ones, in the opposite direction of the airport. I can actually see planes at the airport, right from my house, using the 7x zoom.
You can see what happened AFTER the fact. You CAN'T see in real time.
You've convinced yourself you are safe and nothing any of us say will deter you. I wish you and the hapless pilots in your area the best of luck.

Reactions: codex22
Well, I'm still working on my out of signal range missions. Of course I start each mission fairly high, to avoid hitting anything. Then after watching the video, I adjust the waypoints, to get closer to the ground. But this is a very tedious process, because there is no way to accurately estimate how high you are over an object, by watching the video. I'm wondering if anyone knows any tricks, to get a better estimate of your height above objects, strictly by watching the video, so I can use fewer iterations to get my mission perfected. Thanks.

Here's an example of one of my out of signal range waypoint missions. I screwed up the music, and played the same song twice, oh well.

Here's an example of one of my out of signal range waypoint missions. I screwed up the music, and played the same song twice, oh well.

It's an old thread and I just stumbled on to it because I was having a waypoint issue... but anyway, only because I didn't see anyone actually say it...