DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Over the "flying over water" fear today.

The first nice day we had in Seattle after I got my M2P I flew it 1 mile offshore over Puget Sound. My instagram video here. I was nervous, but in all my flights I have yet to have any kind of catastrophic malfunction. The footage I got was good enough for me to use on a bunch of projects so far. So glad I took the risk.

I actually prefer flying over water...

No trees or buildings to create obstacles
Nothing to block LOS or signal
Perfectly level surface below
Usually no people below
Predictable wind profile
Beautiful scenery

I just make sure Home Point is set and return when battery alarms at 30%. No worries.

Hi guys, I've been reading the forum for several months. I am a Mavic Pro driver and I wanted to be able to fly over and land on water. I built a sturdy bur inexpensive float set using dowels and foam. Tested cg in a bath tub and after getting it right did some test flights. I thought it might alter flight characteristics but really didnt notice a difference. So if I ditch over water at least I don't have to go diving. It works very well and is stable floating. Enjoy.IMG_20180908_171914.jpg

Hi guys, I've been reading the forum for several months. I am a Mavic Pro driver and I wanted to be able to fly over and land on water. I built a sturdy bur inexpensive float set using dowels and foam. Tested cg in a bath tub and after getting it right did some test flights. I thought it might alter flight characteristics but really didnt notice a difference. So if I ditch over water at least I don't have to go diving. It works very well and is stable floating. Enjoy.View attachment 59576
Do you have any Video's on how good these work? Tks. Chuck

Reactions: Former Member
Wow! Thank you for a great laugh this morning. I am guessing you are serious about the ditching component, but are you serious about landing on water?