DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Part 107 gray area?

Jeffro15

Reactions
I spend most of my flying over the ocean. Mostly for profit, but I also work with a local university. If I'm doing marine surveys, but really enjoy doing it, does this constitute a part 107 flight?
I am a part 107 pilot, but it affects my insurance.

Last edited:
I spend most of my flying over the ocean. Mostly for profit, but I also work with a local university. If I'm doing marine surveys, but really enjoy doing it, does this constitute a part 107 flight?
If you do it for the university, yes
If for any compensation, yes
You need a 107 certification.. Enjoying your job has nothing to do with it unfortunately.

I take no compensation.
Doesn’t matter as you state it... doing something for someone else.
I am a part 107 pilot, but it affects my insurance.
Most folks enjoy their job.... if you are providing service, info, etc., especially as part of your work for a university.... yes it is 107z

Doesn’t matter as you state it... doing something for someone else.

Most folks enjoy their job.... if you are providing service, info, etc., especially as part of your work for a university.... yes it is 107z
Maybe I didn't say that as well as I could have. I report anything I see to them and follow up if requested. I grew up on and in the ocean, and have spent half my life on it.

• Wow
Reactions: theDRONEranger
Maybe I didn't say that as well as I could have. I report anything I see to them and follow up if requested. I grew up on and in the ocean, and have spent half my life on it.
If you are flying for your own flying pleasure, that's on you.
If you are flying for the uni or someone else, that's 107 territory.

You've sprinkled enough uncertainty in the thread that there's likely to be a deluge of hardliners piling on to tell you that you need Part 107.
It never fails.

If you are flying for your own flying pleasure, that's on you.