DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Proper battery maintenance?

CFster

Reactions
Hello, new to the forum. I’m a real estate photographer who just purchased a Mini 4 Pro. I’ve been using a Phantom 4 Pro for years and it’s been a workhorse but the batteries eventually gave up on me.

My question is what can I do to make sure I get a nice long lifespan out of my Mini batteries? I have three. I charge them all up prior to a shoot, as I don’t necessarily know how long I’ll be flying. So, I may come home with depleted batteries, or only one depleted, and a couple that are still fully charged.

Should I let the unused batteries deplete on their own? Should I charge the depleted batteries fully then let those deplete as they’re designed to do after a couple days? How low can I let the batteries get while flying and not impact the overall life of the batteries? Is it detrimental to the batteries to keep topping them off every couple days? Should I wait until I’m sure I have a shoot and charge them then?

Thanks,
- CF

Hello, new to the forum. I’m a real estate photographer who just purchased a Mini 4 Pro. I’ve been using a Phantom 4 Pro for years and it’s been a workhorse but the batteries eventually gave up on me.

My question is what can I do to make sure I get a nice long lifespan out of my Mini batteries? I have three. I charge them all up prior to a shoot, as I don’t necessarily know how long I’ll be flying. So, I may come home with depleted batteries, or only one depleted, and a couple that are still fully charged.