DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

public

Paramedicpilot

Reactions
Hi.
I am new to drone flying, I have a Mavic air which I love, still learning loads about it. I recently took it out to fly, i found a large open space near to where I live, there was only 2-3 members of the public around. I flew my drone to test camera etc. Had a really good flight, no problems, learnt loads, landed safely. then, from out of nowhere a woman appeared marching with purpose towards me. She said, and I quote, " are you flying that thing for your own pleasure? not considering anybody else, just thinking about yourself?" I was gob smacked, I said I was, but there was no-one else around to think about, she then went on to say that it sounds like a wasp and it is affecting her tinnitus, trying to suppress a smile I asked her if she had the same problem with motorbikes and grass strimmer's, she walked off calling me selfish.
Does this happen a lot? I thought I had found a really good place to fly, it has put me off going back.

@Paramedicpilot ,first off welcome to the forum, its a good idea when you first join the forum to go to pilot check in and introduce yourself
well where to start
have you got your Operator ID number displayed on the drone ,and also have you done the free test to get your flyer id as well
all these things can be obtained by going onto the CAA web site
also you need to follow the drone code when you are flying

Welcome to the forum.

You will find threads of the vein on the forum, but in general most pilots are pretty unlucky to strike these drone ignorant people when out flying.
Hopefully you were just unlucky this time.

Obviously you were supposed to have ESP and know she was suffering tinnitus, and land / leave the rea asap so she could have some quiet :rolleyes:
Don't worry "It's her, not you".

Hi there and welcome to the forum and the amazing hobby of drones. I'm down in rural Devon.