DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

REALLY DANGEROUS BUG, IF CONFIRMED: RTH Failsafe for lost signal.

I can’t speak for the Mavic 2 but I was an experienced operator and had my Mavic Pro for more than a year and when I lost complete disconnection to my bird, remote etc..it never returned home , instead kept flying and descided to descend 1 mile out from me in the ocean. I tried everything to reconnect to the controller and nothing. At the time (July) I contacted DJI and they wouldn’t give me the time of day because of no warranty. It was no doubt a firmware bug as I saw dozens of people having had similar issues and today its still going on and many have not had any solutions to it. No doubt some were human error but many were like mine. I won’t go into the details etc...as i’ve Done this already but rest assured it was a firmware update issue at the time but DJI would not admit to it...I was under 100 meters away when it happened . I blame either DJI or police helicopter came out of the nowhere at about 2500feet above my Mavic..What are the chances police have remote interferes with controller/?? Has anyone heard of this happening...when I lost complete connection to the Mavic with controller (saying connecting....) it took off like someone else was controlling it

Reactions: noosaguy
And still I see threads here about 'should we be able to fly over crowds?'. The fact is we have half a brick in the air and although these things are an amazing piece of technology, there is always the potential for something to go horribly wrong.
So far I trust my M2P but when you read of all the 'minor' incidents on these pages, including this thread, I won't do it. (probably posted this in the wrong place :))

Reactions: ff22