DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Record entire flight or just set-up shots?

brew99

Reactions
Beginner here with a MM2 and wondering what is generally the best way for recording video. I know this might be subjective, but is it generally better to record an entire flight (4K in my case), or set-up for a shot then record? I have a 128GB SD, and also have it set to record cache to phone.

If I record the entire flight, then there is much more post processing to wade through to find the desired shots, but then you are also guaranteed not to miss anything. If doing separate shots, then less wading through I would presume. Keep in mind my PC is old and I would need to work with optimized/proxy media also.

flying and post processing video is all new to me. I’m trying to use resolve 17.

As you get more seasoned , you just shoot what you need. If you have windows look into getting a retail copy of the Adobe Premiere CC its a good value and an easier learning curve than resolve.

Phantomrain.org
Gear to fly your Mini 2 in the Rain and land on the Water.

Reactions: MAvic_South_Oz
Adobe Premiere Elements might be another good choice if you don't need all the capabilities of the full Premiere version.

Phantomrain, do you have a good source for older Adobe products? I've been using CS5 for years and it would be good to update a bit, but without going to one of the new monthly fee options.

Reactions: Phantomrain.org
I definitely agree with bushie, particularly flying a mini 2. Getting proper exposure can be tricky and bumbling into it happens often. The wildlife thing happens to me often as well. Once you learn how to “scrub” through footage quickly bigger clips only represent more opportunities.