DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

RTH while in canyons

Ziba

Reactions
I'm a photographer and a new Mavric Pro 2 owner.

As I learn the drone I have a question for which I can't seem to find an answer.

I shoot in Oregon and Washington, and a few other western locations. I want to be able to send the drone into canyons (of varying depths and widths) to capture what I can't get from the rim. If I use the RTH feature how would I set the ceiling so that drone rises above the canyon rim. As an example, if I set the return to home at 100 feet above the home point will the drone be able to calculate that it may need to rise 200 feet as it rises from the canyon to achieve the desired height? If not, how would I set it in order for it to return home - especially if it loses the signal.

As I learn the drone I have a question for which I can't seem to find an answer.

I shoot in Oregon and Washington, and a few other western locations. I want to be able to send the drone into canyons (of varying depths and widths) to capture what I can't get from the rim. If I use the RTH feature how would I set the ceiling so that drone rises above the canyon rim. As an example, if I set the return to home at 100 feet above the home point will the drone be able to calculate that it may need to rise 200 feet as it rises from the canyon to achieve the desired height? If not, how would I set it in order for it to return home - especially if it loses the signal.
RTH will be relative to TO/home point. In AZ I use this a lot as loss of signal is common in canyons... just set your drone to RTH on loss of signal.

First off WELCOME to the forum!!

The Altitude of the aircraft is set at ZERO during the initialization process at launch. So as long as the RTH is higher than your launch point when the aircraft ASCENDS from the canyon it should be ok. The RTH is not affected by descending below the Home Point.