DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Rules for recreational flyers not clear/complete

wags1

Premium Pilot
Reactions
As a complete noob that is patiently waiting to receive my first drone (DJI Mini 2 Fly More Package - thanks Amazon prime day!) I've spent the last several days doing due diligence to ensure that I understand the rules and regs so I can fly within them, and safely. I am probably missing something but it appears to me that their is currently a bit of a hole in the way the rules and regs are currently defined for folks just starting out.

If you go here https://www.faa.gov/uas/recreational_flyers and look at the paragraph labeled "What are the Rules for Recreational Flyers?" point 2 indicates that you have one of two choices "follow the safety guidelines of existing aeromodelling organizations or use the FAA provided safety guidelines per Advisory Circular 91-57B.". OK, I choose to use the FAA provided safety guidelines. If you then go to Advisory Circular 91-57B and review those guideline that document states that you currently must choose one of two safety guidelines to, either the AMA or "The FAA has existing basic safety guidelines for recreational operations" which provides a link back to https://www.faa.gov/uas/recreational_flyers which seems to me to be strangely circular and provided no additional safety guidelines beyond what I had just reviewed.

In addition to that I did review the TRUST material, took the test, passed, and received my TRUST Certificate. I guess I'm all set to fly right? It turns out that in fact no, their seems to be lots of stuff left out.