DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Seeking help and advice on panning jitter/shake / wobble on Mini 3 Pro

CrowsFeet

Reactions
Site
youtube.com
I'm new to the Mini 3, and did a quick flight over a road. I notice that when I pan left to right or right to left, it kinda, jitters. Seems to go, stop, go, stop every 200ms or so. I'm running in Auto, ISO is 100, 25fps. No filter.

Is there a way to get panning to be less jittery? Forward and backward seems better. Maybe not perfect, but not bad. This video is raw off the card. I have a fast Sandisk Extreme Pro card.

The playback display/monitor refresh/resolution affects viewing pleasure you seem to think of a s a fault.
Maybe ask you're neighbours what they think or see if you can borrow a better monitor from them;)

@CrowsFeet ,just try to record using 10.80p at 30fps ,then play that back for comparison
if that gets rid of the jerkiness ,then it means you will need an uprated computer system to play back 4K video smoothly

I had a similar issue, turned out to be DaVinci Resolve frame rate at 24fps and the MINI3 Pro rate set at 30fps, check the rates are set the same in post production as in recording... These 2 inks show the diferences...

24fps
30fps

Reactions: WobblingWillie
...Is there a way to get panning to be less jittery?
All the basics regarding editing with clip & time line frame rates matching is of course mandatory for a smooth movement... but this have most probably nothing to do with that.

All the panning you show are way to fast for the used frame rate & close distance to objects... read up here about panning speeds --> https://www.red.com/red-101/camera-panning-speed#:~:text=The rule of thumb is,lens, model or sensor size.

And yeah... a slower shutter speed (maybe with the help from a ND filter) introducing more motion blur, can lessen the problem.